Top Level > Conference Proceedings > 2023 Conferences

ECGBL 2023- Proceedings of the  17th European Conference on Games Based Learning

ECGBL 2023- Proceedings of the 17th European Conference on Games Based Learning


Edited by Ton Spil, Guido Bruinsma and Luuk Collou

:  at  £70.00  each

These proceedings represent the work of contributors to the 17th European Conference on Games Based Learning (ECGBL 2023), hosted by University of Twente, Enschede, Netherlands on 5 - 6 October 2023. The Conference Co-Chairs are Ton Spil, Guido Bruinsma from University of Twente, Behterlands, and Luuk Collou, from Saxion University for applied Sciences in Enschede, the Netherlands

ECGBL is now a well-established event on the academic research calendar and now in its 17th year the key aim remains the opportunity for participants to share ideas and meet the people who hold them. The scope of papers will ensure an interesting two days. The subjects covered illustrate the wide range of topics that fall into this important and ever-growing area of research.

The opening keynote presentation is given by Professor Sara de Freitas, on the topic of Gamechangers: Transforming agency, engagement and communities with digital game trails. The second day of the conference will open with an address by  Jan Willem Huisman, who will talk about The loss of Personal Play Space Undermines our Society: Playing is the Foundation for the Human Scale.

With an initial submission of 200 abstracts, after the double blind, peer review process there are 95 Academic research papers, 6 PhD research papers, 4 Masters Research papers and 6 work-in-progress papers published in these Conference Proceedings. These papers represent research from Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Colombia, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tunisia, Turkey, UK, United Arab Emirates and the USA.