Top Level > Conference Proceedings > 2021 Conferences

ECGBL 2021- Proceedings of the 15th European Conference on  Game Based Learning

ECGBL 2021- Proceedings of the 15th European Conference on Game Based Learning


Edited by Dr Panagiotis Fotaris

:  at  £70.00  each

These proceedings represent the work of contributors to the 15th European Conference on Games Based Learning (ECGBL 2021), hosted by The University of Brighton on 23-24 September 2021. The Conference Chair is Dr Panagiotis Fotaris and the Programme Chairs are Dr Cate Grundy and Dr Marcus Winter, all from University of Brighton, UK.

ECGBL is now a well-established event on the academic research calendar and now in its 15th year the key aim remains the opportunity for participants to share ideas and meet the people who hold them. The conference was due to be held at The University of Brighton, UK but due to the global Covid-19 pandemic it was moved online to be held as a virtual event. The scope of papers will ensure an interesting two days. The subjects covered illustrate the wide range of topics that fall into this important and ever-growing area of research.

The opening keynote presentation is given by Pete Jenkins, CEO of Gamification+ Ltd, on the topic of Seven Steps to Gamification Success. The second day of the conference will open with an address by Diana Laurillard, Professor of Learning with Digital Technology at UCL Knowledge Lab, University College London, who will talk about A Constructionist approach to games for conceptual change.

With an initial submission of 163 abstracts, after the double blind, peer review process there are 88 Academic research papers, 12 PhD research papers, 1 Masters Research papers and 10 work-in-progress papers published in these Conference Proceedings. These papers represent research from Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Republic of China, Taiwan, Romania, Russia, Scotland, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, UK and USA